Dr Danilo Samà

Meet the Team of experts - Photo of Danilo Samà, person in business suit, glasses with dark frames, smiling, male, gallantly, standing upright

Danilo arbeitet seit 2021 als Senior Competition Economist bei CDC in Paris. Dort ist er Office Manager, Case Manager und verantwortlich für die wirtschaftliche Analyse, ökonometrische Bewertung und Schadensquantifizierung. Seit er 2014 zu CDC in Brüssel kam, hat er in seiner Funktion umfangreiche Erfahrungen in allen Phasen von Schadensersatzprozessen gesammelt und an wirtschaftlichen Fragestellungen zu einigen der größten Kartellverfahren in Europa gearbeitet. Seine Expertise reicht von der Entwicklung von Schadenstheorien in Bezug auf kartellbetroffene Märkte, über die Gestaltung von Architekturen für die Sammlung von Daten, die von geschädigten Unternehmen zur Verfügung gestellt werden, bis hin zur gerichtlichen und außergerichtlichen Quantifizierung von Schäden. In seiner täglichen Arbeit steht er in Kontakt mit dem CDC-Netzwerk aus renommierten akademischen Experten auf den Gebieten der Ökonometrie und der Industrie. Darüber hinaus betreut er den französischen und italienischen Markt als erster Ansprechpartner für geschädigte Unternehmen und Anwaltskanzleien. Im Laufe der Jahre hat er zu bahnbrechenden Innovationen in der privaten Kartellrechtsdurchsetzung beigetragen, wie z. B. dem Zinsberechnungstool der CDC.

Bevor er zu CDC kam, sammelte er Erfahrungen als Wettbewerbsökonom in der Kartellrechtsabteilung einer führenden internationalen Anwaltskanzlei in Rom und bei der Generaldirektion für Wettbewerb der Europäischen Kommission in Brüssel. Als Research Fellow und Generalsekretär des Law & Economics LAB der LUISS für den Bereich Wettbewerb und Mitglied der Italian Antitrust Association hat er mehrere Artikel in internationalen Fachzeitschriften und Monographien veröffentlicht, die verfügbar sind auf seiner privaten Webseite.

Er studierte ökonomische Analyse des Wettbewerbsrechts an der LUISS "Guido Carli" Universität in Rom, der Toulouse School of Economics, der Universität Hamburg, der Universität Gent, der Erasmus Rotterdam Universität und der Aarhus School of Business and Social Sciences. Seine Dissertation befasst sich mit ökonometrischen Techniken und Theorien der industriellen Organisation, angewandt auf das Wettbewerbsrecht.

Neben dem Kartellrecht interessiert er sich für zeitgenössische Kunst.

Sprachen: Italienisch, Englisch, Französisch.

Dr Danilo Samà

Meet the Team of experts - Photo of Danilo Samà, person in business suit, glasses with dark frames, smiling, male, gallantly, standing upright

Danilo works as senior competition economist at CDC in Paris since 2021, where he is office manager, case manager, and responsible for the economic analysis, econometric assessment and damage quantification. Having joined CDC in Brussels in 2014, in his role, he has gained extensive experience in all phases of damage litigation, working on economic issues concerning some of the largest antitrust cases in Europe. His expertise ranges from the development of theories of harm in relation to markets affected by cartels, the design of architectures for the collection of data provided by damaged companies, to the quantification of damages in and out-of-court. In his daily activities, he is in contact with the CDC’s network of renowned academic experts in the fields of econometrics and industrial organisation. Furthermore, he serves the French and Italian markets as a primary contact for damaged companies and law firms. Over the years, he has contributed to pioneering innovations in private antitrust enforcement such as the CDC’s interest calculation tool.

Before joining CDC, he gained experience as competition economist in the antitrust department of a leading international law firm in Rome and at the Directorate-General for Competition of the European Commission in Brussels. Research Fellow and General Secretary at the LUISS’s Law & Economics LAB for the competition area, member of the Italian Antitrust Association, he has published several articles in international journals and monographs, available on his personal website.

He studied economic analysis of competition law at the LUISS “Guido Carli” University of Rome, the Toulouse School of Economics, the University of Hamburg, the Ghent University, the Erasmus Rotterdam University and the Aarhus School of Business and Social Sciences. His Ph.D. dissertation deals with econometric techniques and industrial organization theories applied to competition law.

Beyond antitrust, he is keen on contemporary art.

Languages: Italian, English, French.